At the start of a new year, most of us are thinking about food and drink – not just about how indulgent we’ve been or what delicious dishes we’ve eaten over the holidays, but we also think about what we’re potentially going to give up or cut back on as part of our new year’s resolutions. In the UK, for example, many people stop eating sweets and chocolate after having gorged themselves on masses of selection boxes, and those who are a little more daring take part in Dry January – a movement that encourages people to have an alcohol-free month and to even raise a bit of money for charity in doing so! We’re no different in the English department here at WIENERS+WIENERS – especially as many of us visit our home countries over the festive period and treat ourselves to national and regional foods. It all sounds wonderful, but it can actually result in some very confusing conversations when we return to Germany and talk about what a great time we had at home – not just with colleagues in other departments, but sometimes even among us native English speakers too! There’s a few specialities in particular in the UK that can be quite puzzling if you’re not familiar with them – mince pies that don’t have any minced beef inside, pigs in blankets that are actually just sausages wrapped in bacon, and Yorkshire puddings that aren’t a dessert, but are served as part of a main course. It’s always tricky trying to explain something in another language where there either isn’t a direct translation for it or if the concept of it is completely foreign!

However, it’s not just during conversations in the office about Christmas that we have such problems. Throughout the entire year, many of our customers ask us to translate menus. It sounds like a simple task but, somewhat like translating fashion texts, often requires much more extensive research than translating legal contracts or financial reports, for instance. To give you an idea of just how difficult the topic of cross-cultural culinary translations can be, take a look at the following examples that are commonly found on both German and English menus:

Rote Grütze

Rote Grütze is a popular dessert in northern Germany, and is a take on the Danish dish called Rødgrød. The literal translation for Rote Grütze is red groats, but the dish is much more appetising than it sounds – it’s actually a red-berry compote and is traditionally served with vanilla sauce.

Grünkohl

Surprisingly, this one does have a direct translation into English – kale. This superfood has become quite popular in the UK in recent years and is available in various different forms such as crisps, in smoothies, or steamed and served as a side dish. In Germany, however, Grünkohl is a well-established favourite and even has a bit of a cult status – when people talk about Grünkohl, they’re usually referring to a seasonal dish consisting of stewed kale served with caramelised potatoes, pork and smoked sausages – it’s a staple of most German grandmas’ cooking repertoires!

Sauerkraut

Sauerkraut is quite a familiar term among native English speakers and we often wonder why we don’t just translate Sauerkraut as pickled cabbage since it is a similar condiment in the UK and can be found in most supermarkets. The big difference here is that vinegar is added to salted cabbage to create pickled cabbage, whereas to create Sauerkraut, the cabbage is salted and then left to ferment, creating its own brine. Delicious – and incredibly nutritious too!

Labskaus

If you’re feeling adventurous when you’re in northern Germany, you might order the local delicacy – Labskaus. There are many variations of this dish, but common ingredients include corned beef, beetroot, a fried egg and even pickled herring wrapped around a gherkin. It doesn’t sound like a winning combination but it’s said to be a great hangover cure – perfect for the beginning of January!

Alsterwasser

How about an Alsterwasser to go with your Labskaus? Alsterwasser literally translates to ‘water from the Alster’, the Alster being a river that runs right through the centre of Hamburg. There are other names for this drink throughout Germany, Austria and Switzerland, all of which have translations that are as confusing as the next, but don’t worry – the waiter won’t go dunking your stein in any rivers. Instead, they’ll simply present you with a refreshing pilsner-and-lemonade shandy. And if you fancy something a little bit different, you can also ask for a Diesel, a pilsner-and-cola shandy.

Toad-in-the-hole

Arguably one of the most confusingly named dishes to come from the UK, this winter warmer is the perfect dish to get you through the freezing weather! Luckily, this recipe doesn’t include any type of frog, and all you need to put together this delicious meal is a huge Yorkshire pudding (made from a batter similar to the one when making pancakes, that rises and turns golden and crispy when baked) with two rows of juicy sausages inside! Served with seasonal vegetables and lashings of gravy, toad-in-the-hole is a real family favourite!

Haggis

Neither its name nor its ingredients make haggis sound particularly appealing, but this national dish is considered a delicacy. While it might not be your first choice of meal when visiting Scotland, the savoury dish made by mincing sheep’s heart, liver and lungs, onion, oatmeal and suet, and stuffing it all into the sheep’s stomach is actually really popular. It is traditionally eaten on Burns Night – a celebration in honour of Robert Burns, who is widely considered as Scotland’s national poet.

Spotted dick

It’s uncertain where the amusing name for this classic pudding came from, but this dessert is loved across the whole of the UK. The suet sponge laced with currants or raisins (hence the reference to ‘spotted’) is usually served doused in thick custard and is often found on most gastropub menus up and down the country.

Welsh rarebit

Welsh rarebit comes in varying degrees of sophistication – it can be anything from toast with melted cheese on top to smothering it in a rich béchamel sauce. Surprisingly, however, it doesn’t include any rabbit meat despite its name. As with many other traditional dishes in the UK, it’s unclear where its name originally came from, but a possible answer is that rarebit was a filling meal favoured in times when meat was scarce since ‘rarebit’ is the Welsh folk spelling of rabbit.

Bubble and squeak

After all the extravagance over the holidays, there’s no better way to use up any leftovers than creating your own version of bubble and squeak. This hearty accompaniment to a full English breakfast is made by taking any leftover vegetables from the previous day’s roast dinner, mashing them together and frying them in a shallow pan. If you’re still full from all your indulgence, bubble and squeak is great for freezing, so you can be sure not to be wasteful!

Now, after all these culinary musings, let us say Mahlzeit – an expression that is untranslatable in English – and wish you all the very best for a healthy, happy and successful new year! May 2019 be filled with good food, good times and lots of translations!

Am Anfang des Jahres denken die meisten von uns an Essen und Trinken – aber nicht nur daran, wie maßlos wir während der Feiertage geschlemmt haben, sondern auch daran, was wir im Zuge unserer Vorsätze fürs neue Jahr vielleicht seltener essen oder welche Laster wir ganz aufgeben wollen. In Großbritannien ist es zum Beispiel weit verbreitet, auf Süßigkeiten und Schokolade zu verzichten, nachdem man sich zwischen den Tagen durch eine Pralinenschachtel nach der anderen gefuttert hat. Manch Mutige nehmen sogar am »Dry January« teil – eine Bewegung, bei der die Menschen dazu angeregt werden, einen Monat lang auf Alkohol zu verzichten und damit sogar noch Geld für einen guten Zweck zu sammeln. Uns im Englischen Lektorat bei WIENERS+WIENERS geht es da nicht anders – vor allem, da viele von uns über die Feiertage in unsere Heimatländer zurückkehren und sich an der nationalen und regionalen Küche laben. Klingt toll, kann aber auch zu Verwirrungen führen, wenn wir nach Deutschland zurückkommen und von der schönen Zeit zu Hause berichten – und zwar nicht nur im Gespräch mit Kollegen aus anderen Abteilungen, sondern auch unter uns Muttersprachlern! Es gibt einige spezielle Gerichte, insbesondere im UK, die einem etwas rätselhaft erscheinen, wenn man sie noch nicht kennt. »Mince pies«, zum Beispiel, die überhaupt kein Hackfleisch enthalten, »pigs in blankets«, die eigentlich nur Würstchen im Speckmantel sind, und »Yorkshire puddings«, die kein Nachtisch sind, sondern ein Bestandteil des Hauptgerichts. Es ist immer schwierig, etwas in einer anderen Sprache zu erklären, wenn es keine direkte Übersetzung dafür gibt oder das Gesamtkonzept der Zielsprache fremd ist.

Allerdings haben wir diese Probleme nicht nur nach der Weihnachtszeit im Büro. Das ganze Jahr über bitten uns unsere Kunden, Speisekarten und Menüfolgen zu übersetzen. Das klingt vielleicht nach einer leichten Aufgabe, aber ähnlich wie bei Modeübersetzungen ist hier oft ein höherer Rechercheaufwand nötig als bei Rechts- oder Finanztexten. Um die Schwierigkeiten der Übersetzung interkultureller Kulinarik zu veranschaulichen, haben wir folgende Beispiele für Sie bereitgestellt, die häufig auf englischen oder deutschen Karten zu finden sind.

Rote Grütze

Rote Grütze ist eine beliebte Nachspeise in Norddeutschland und eine Anlehnung an das dänische Gericht »Rødgrød«. Wörtlich übersetzt hieße rote Grütze im Englischen »red groats«, was für einen Muttersprachler nicht sehr appetitlich klingt. Der Name tut dem Gericht aber unrecht, da es sich tatsächlich um ein Kompott aus roten Beeren handelt, das traditionell mit Vanillesoße serviert wird.

Grünkohl

Überraschenderweise gibt es eine direkte Übersetzung hierfür – »kale«. Dieses Superfood hat in den letzten Jahren im UK zunehmend an Popularität gewonnen und ist dort in vielen Varianten zu finden, als Chips, in Smoothies oder gedünstet als Beilage. In Deutschland hingegen ist Grünkohl ein weitverbreitetes Leibgericht, das sogar schon Kultstatus hat. »Grünkohl« meint dann zumeist ein traditionelles Wintergericht, bestehend aus gekochtem Grünkohl mit karamellisierten Kartoffeln, Schweinebacke, Kasseler und Kochwurst. Jede norddeutsche Großmutter hat das Rezept in ihrem Repertoire.

Sauerkraut

»Sauerkraut« ist uns Englischsprachigen durchaus geläufig und wir fragen uns oft, warum wir es nicht einfach mit »pickled cabbage« übersetzen, da dies dem deutschen Pendant sehr ähnlich und auch so in Supermärkten zu finden ist. Der bedeutende Unterschied zwischen den beiden ist aber, dass beim »pickled cabbage« dem gesalzenen Kohl Essig hinzugefügt wird, während er beim Sauerkraut sich selbst überlassen wird – um zu fermentieren und damit seine eigene Lake herzustellen. Köstlich und auch unglaublich nahrhaft!

Labskaus

Wenn Sie auf ein Abenteuer aus und in Norddeutschland unterwegs sind, bestellen Sie doch einmal die lokale Spezialität – Labskaus. Es gibt viele Variationen dieses Gerichts, meistens sind aber Corned Beef, Rote Bete, ein Spiegelei und Hering (als Matjes oder auch als Rollmops) enthalten. Das klingt nicht gerade überzeugend, gilt aber als perfektes Rezept gegen den Kater – demnach perfekt für Anfang Januar!

Alsterwasser

Wie wäre es mit einem Alsterwasser zu Ihrem Labskaus? Das Alsterwasser hat seinen Namen vom Fluss Alster, der mitten durch Hamburg fließt. Es gibt in Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz verschiedene Namen für dieses Getränk, die allesamt verwirrende Übersetzungen liefern. Aber keine Angst – in keinem Fall wird der Kellner Ihren Krug in irgendwelche Flüsse tauchen. Stattdessen bekommen Sie eine erfrischende Mischung aus Pils und Limonade. Und falls Ihnen der Sinn doch nach etwas anderem steht, bestellen Sie doch mal ein Diesel – ein Gemisch aus Pils und Cola.

Toad-in-the-hole

Dies ist mit Sicherheit ein Gericht mit einem der absurdesten Namen der britischen Küche! Aber auch eines, das perfekt für kalte Wintertage ist. Zum Glück beinhaltet es weder Frosch noch Kröte – alles, was man für dieses köstliche Essen braucht, ist ein riesiger »Yorkshire pudding« (hergestellt aus Teig, der dem von »pancakes« ähnelt, der aufgeht und beim Backen golden und knusprig wird) mit zwei Reihen saftiger Bratwürstchen im Inneren. Serviert wird es mit saisonalem Gemüse und viel Bratensoße. Ein Festessen für die ganze Familie!

Haggis

Weder sein Name noch seine Zutaten machen Haggis besonders anziehend, aber dieses Nationalgericht gilt als Delikatesse! Auch wenn es vielleicht nicht Ihre erste Wahl beim Schottlandbesuch ist, ist dieses Gericht aus Schafsherz, -leber und -lunge, zerkleinert, mit Zwiebeln, Haferflocken und Nierenfett vermengt und im Schafsmagen angerichtet, tatsächlich sehr beliebt! Es wird traditionell zur »Burns Night« gegessen – ein Feiertag zu Ehren Robert Burns’, der gemeinhin als Schottlands Nationalpoet gilt.

Spotted dick

Die Herkunft dieses zweifelsohne amüsanten Namens für einen herkömmlichen Pudding ist nicht gesichert, aber das Gericht erfreut sich im Vereinigten Königreich großer Beliebtheit. Ein Rindernierenfett-Biskuitkuchen wird mit Johannisbeeren oder Rosinen versetzt (hier findet sich die Referenz zu »spotted«) und wird für gewöhnlich mit dicker Vanillesoße übergossen serviert. Er steht bei Pubs im ganzen Land auf der Speisekarte.

Welsh rarebit

»Welsh rarebit« ist Toast mit Käse in allen Farben und Formen – ganz simpel mit geschmolzenem Käse oder in reichhaltiger Béchamelsoße ertränkt. Seinem Namen zum Trotz beinhaltet dieses Gericht jedoch kein Kaninchenfleisch. Wie bei so vielen traditionellen Speisen des UK ist die Herkunft des Namens ungeklärt. Eine Theorie ist, dass »rarebit« ein beliebter Sattmacher in Zeiten war, in denen wenig Fleisch zur Verfügung stand – jemand Fremdes könnte denken, es handele sich um Kaninchen, immerhin ist »rarebit« die umgangssprachliche walisische Schreibweise für »rabbit«.

Bubble and squeak

Nach dem ganzen Schlemmen der Feiertage gibt es keine bessere Mahlzeit zur Resteverwertung als »bubble and squeak«. Diese herzhafte Beilage beim »full English breakfast« wird aus jeglichem Gemüse gemacht, das vom Braten des Vortags noch übrig geblieben ist – einfach zusammenmischen und in einer flachen Pfanne braten. Wenn Sie immer noch satt von der gestrigen Völlerei sind, lässt sich »bubbles and squeak« auch hervorragend einfrieren. So verkommt nichts!

Nach all diesem kulinarischen Gegrübel sagen wir am besten »Mahlzeit« – ein Ausdruck, der sich nicht ins Englische übersetzen lässt – und wünschen Ihnen für das neue Jahr alles Gute! Möge Ihr 2019 voll guten Essens, guter Gespräche und guter Übersetzungen sein!